What is the Seat Belt Law in California

What is the seat belt law in California today?

California, like each individual state, has its own set of laws and regulations when it comes to seat belts. Below I will describe some of the key points from the California seat belt law for adults and children.

First and foremost, in the Golden State, the seat belt law is considered a primary law. A primary seat belt law means that police officers are allowed to pull over a car and fine the driver for no other reason than seat belts not being used at that time. That stands in contrast to other states that have a secondary seat belt law—there, officers need another reason to pull the car over, aside from just seeing seat belts unbuckled.

In California, all passengers of a vehicle, especially the driver, must wear seat belts. For those aged 16 or over, the lower strap of the seat belt must cover the hips or upper thighs and the shoulder strap must cross over the front of the chest. Understandably, the seat belt should never be tucked behind the arm or buckled behind the back.

When it comes to young passengers, there are additional rules. A car seat or booster seat should be used at all times by any children under the age of 8 or less than 4’9″ in height. Any children under the age of 2 must be placed in a federally approved and age-specific car seat or booster seat as well.

Ultimately, each person should buckle himself or herself when in a vehicle, but if they fail to do so or are too young, the driver is held responsible. The fines for failing to wear a seat belt or driving passengers who are not strapped in vary quite a bit. Typically, you can expect a $20 fine, but this can escalate to $50 for each time after that. In some instances, the seat belt violation fee can begin anywhere between $162 and $465—especially if a child is not properly restrained. Unfortunately, court fees can up that price even farther. If you fail to pay the fees, you will then face losing your driver’s license.

Of course, to buckle into your seat belt, you need to have a properly functioning seat belt to begin with. If you are having problems with your seat belt or it is broken, send it in to the company Safety Restore for repair. You’ll be guaranteed quality repairs at an affordable price point.

What is the Seat Belt Law in Tennessee

What is the seat belt law in Tennessee today?

Each state has its own take on seat belt laws and regulations. Below I will describe some of the key seat belt laws in the state of Tennessee.

First and foremost, it is important to know that Tennessee is a primary seat belt state. This means that a police officer can pull over a vehicle solely because the driver or one of the passengers is not buckled in. It is required that all drivers and passengers driving or riding a vehicle wear their seat belt, regardless of age or position in the car. When it comes to child passenger restraint laws, those of Tennessee are among the nation’s most specific. Tennessee law specifies the type of system that should be used based on the child’s age and proportions. Infants under the age of 1 and those that weigh less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing infant seat. Children between 1 and 3 and weighing 20 pounds or more must be placed in a forward-facing infant seat. Children between the age of 4 and 8 and measuring less than 57 inches must be strapped into an approved belt-positioning booster seat system. An adult seat belt is allowed for children aged 9 to 15 or 12 or younger measuring more than 57 inches.

Penalties for violation of the seat belt laws vary by age in Tennessee. For the first offense, individuals over the age of 18 may have to pay only $10. For a second offense and subsequent offenses, the fine is raised to $20 instead of a court appearance. Drivers aged 16 to 17 are able to pay a fine of $20 rather than appear in court. Violating Tennessee’s child passenger restraint laws can result in a $50 fine. An important thing to note, however, is that a violation of Tennessee’s seat belt laws does not yield points on the license—as happens in some states.

In order to proper secure yourself and your passengers into your vehicle, you want to make sure your seat belts are in good and working condition. If there is anything wrong with them, turn to the company Safety Restore for seat belt repair.

What is the Seat Belt Law in Florida

Wondering What is the Seat Belt Law in Florida ?

If you live in the Sunshine State, there are many laws you need to know about regarding beaches, parking, nightlife, etc. However, perhaps some of the most important laws are those that deal with something you wear—or should be wearing—at all times: seat belts. The seat belt laws in Florida are unique to the state and should be followed accordingly, if you reside there. Below I will list some of the most important Florida seat belt law points.

To start with, the Florida Highway Patrol and law enforcement requires all drivers, front seat passengers, and all passengers under the age of 18 to fasten their seat belts when entering a vehicle. The seat belt must be properly worn across the lap and over the chest and shoulders—the shoulder strap should never be slipped behind the arm or the entire seat belt buckled in behind the body of the occupant. When it comes to children, Florida has some additional seat belt laws. Children aged 3 and younger must be secured in a child-restraint seat approved by the federal government. Kids aged 4 and 5 must be secured either by a federally approved safety belt or child restraint. As can be expected, the driver is responsible for buckling up any children in his or her vehicle.

Florida law requires all passengers to wear a seat belt, regardless of the motorized vehicle they are driving in. The only exceptions to the law are those certified by a physician with a medical condition that causes seat belt use to impede on their health, employees of a newspaper home delivery service (while actually delivering newspapers), school buses bought new before December 31, 2000, buses used for transportation of people for compensation, trucks of a net weight exceeding 26,000 pounds, and farm equipment. If you do not fall into any of these categories, you should buckle into your seat belt or risk getting pulled over and fined!

The cost for a seat belt violation in Florida is $30. The violation is raised to $60 for children that are not properly restrained.

Of course, whether you live in Florida or another location, your seat belts may become faulty or frayed over time. If your seat belt webbing needs replacement or the seat belt mechanism itself needs repair, you can turn to the company Safety Restore. Simply log onto safetyrestore.com and select the seat belt service you are interested in.