If you live in Connecticut, there are several laws you should be familiar with if you drive a car, motorcycle, or even bicycle.
To begin with, Connecticut state law requires all bicycle drivers to wear a helmet if they are 15 years of age or younger.
When it comes to motorcycles, drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 must wear a helmet. Those over the age of 18 need to wear a helmet only if they have a motorcycle permit instead of a motorcycle license. Regardless of age, all motorcycle operators must wear protective eyewear, whether it be glasses or goggles. That holds true, unless the person’s motorcycle comes with a windshield, in which case protective eyewear is not required.
There are several rules when it comes to driving a car. To begin with, a $92 fine can be applied to any driver refusing to wear a seat belt, or failing to ensure that their vehicle’s occupants are strapped in. Police officers are allowed to pull drivers over solely for this reason. In addition, anyone that is found in the front seat of a car must wear a seat belt. In the rear seat, all occupants aged 4 to 16 must be secured in a proper safety system as well. Texting is absolutely prohibited while driving. When on the road, drivers of a vehicle over the age of 18 are only allowed to use hands-free cell phones. Headlights must be used during times of fog or precipitation, and whenever the road ahead cannot be seen clearly. Thirty minutes after sunset until about thirty minutes ahead of sunrise is the standard time to have headlights turned on. Another important requirement for drivers is that studded snow tires must be used between November 15 and April 30.
Regardless of what you are driving, you should always ensure that you are driving safely and responsibly. If you are on the road and detect that someone is driving dangerously, or worse is inebriated, do not hesitate to call 911 and report it. Safety on the road is crucial especially in the state of Connecticut. In the year 2016 alone, there were 311 fatalities reported on the road.
Seeing as how seat belts play a big role in Connecticut law, and how crucial they are to your safety, it is important that you make sure your seat belts are functioning properly at all times. If you need safety belt repair, you can always turn to the company Safety Restore. Safety Restore performs repairs on single stage, dual stage, and even triple stage seat belts for all makes and models of vehicles. At only $118.99 per unit, getting safety belt repair at this company costs only a fraction of the price of a dealer. You’ll also be left with a lifetime warranty on your seat belts. You can be assured of quality and safety as the company only employs highly experienced seat belt engineers. The seat belts are repaired using industry standard tools and 100% OEM parts, and FMVSS standards are always met or exceeded. With the company’s quick 24 hour turnaround time, you’ll be driving safely on the road again in no time!